World Heritage Committee

The Committee is the responsible institution and takes care of:
- select the new properties for the World Heritage List of Cultural and Natural Heritage nominated by the various States;
- protect the properties of the List by distributing the resources of the World Heritage Fund and determining the technical and financial assistance to be distributed to the various properties.
The Committee is made up of representatives from 21 Member States, elected by the General Assembly of the Member States every six years. It meets once a year to discuss issues related to the implementation of the Convention: it decides the registration of new Heritage on the World Heritage List, determines the budget of the World Heritage Fund for the following year, examines requests for international assistance, defines political issues, etc.
The Committee also elects the members of its office: a Chairperson, a Rapporteur and five Vice-Chairpersons. The Bureau of the Committee is located in Paris. It is assisted by international non-governmental organizations such as:

the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS);
the Internation Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), responsible for the technical evaluation of each proposal;
The International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property (ICCROM) which provides advice for the restoration of monuments.

Tutti i diritti riservati