UNESCO global geoparks are single and unified geographic areas where sites and landscapes of international geological importance are managed with a holistic concept of protection, education and sustainable development. A UNESCO World Geopark uses its geological heritage, in connection with all other aspects of the natural and cultural heritage of the area, to raise awareness and understanding of the key issues of society, how to use the earth’s resources in a sustainable way, mitigate the effects of climate change and reduce risks related to natural disasters. Currently, there are 127 UNESCO global geoparks in 35 countries, in Italy there are ten recognized Geoparks in the European Network and in the Global Network under the aegis of UNESCO.

Geoparks List:

- Beigua Geopark

- Geological Mining Park of Sardinia

- Adamello-Brenta Geopark

- Cilento and Vallo di Diano Geopark

- Tuscan Mining Geopark

- Apuan Alps Geopark

- Sesia-Val Grande Geopark

- Pollino Geopark

Altre risorse:

I Geoparchi Italiani che aderiscono alla rete

- Unesco Global Geoparks

Tutti i diritti riservati